The Distinction of Past and Future: The Feynman Series

September 20 2011

Richard Phillips Feynman (play /ˈfnmən/; May 11, 1918 – February 15, 1988)[2] was an American physicist known for his work in thepath integral formulation of quantum mechanics, the theory of quantum electrodynamics and the physics of the superfluidity of supercooled liquid helium, as well as in particle physics (he proposed the parton model). For his contributions to the development of quantum electrodynamics, Feynman, jointly with Julian Schwinger and Sin-Itiro Tomonaga, received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1965. He developed a widely used pictorial representation scheme for the mathematical expressions governing the behavior ofsubatomic particles, which later became known as Feynman diagrams. During his lifetime, Feynman became one of the best-known scientists in the world.

If you can see this, then you might need a Flash Player upgrade or you need to install Flash Player if it’s missing. Get Flash Player from Adobe. This error may appear if the URL path to the embedded object is broken or you have connectivity issue to the embedded object. Powered BY XVE Various Embed.

Also available on Microsoft Research’s Project TUVA Site.

Microsoft Research Project Tuva presents Nobel Prize winning physicist Richard Feynman’s Messenger Series lectures within an enhanced video player. This player features searchable video, linked transcripts, user notes, and interactive extras.

The lectures have been enhanced with commentary by Dr. Robert Jaffe, a physics professor at MIT, who provides a wealth of information regarding his own personal experience with Feynman, insights into how science has progressed in the 45 years since the lectures were originally made, and deeper exploration of key concepts that Feynman introduces.

Really worth watching for all science and tech nerds…this stuff is historic!

No Comments

Leave A New Comment

Captcha Challenge * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.